D…d…declutter.

A part of what we want to do this year is declutter our home. With no new things coming in it should be much easier to do this (theoretically). Every so often I’ll read an article about different ways to approach clutter in your house. A lot of them focus on the wardrobe. The rule regarding getting rid of anything you haven’t worn in 12 months just gives me heart palpitations. I have a lot of vintage dresses that I haven’t worn in a long time, but I’m very attached to them.

IMG_1259

I know I will never find anything like them again. I realise that is just an excuse. But seriously, it’s just not happening. So where to next? My books? Magazines? My jars of buttons? I think maybe it’s one of the downsides to being a teacher. Everything is a resource. Most things I keep for crafting / sewing / school do come in handy. They take up so much room, though. And they only come in handy once, maybe twice a year.

Here are a few articles I’ve read that I think have great ideas. The thing I like about these articles are that they make it sound easy and even a little bit fun. I am actually a little inspired to start. Just a little. I’ll let you know if I make any progress*.

33 Ways to Declutter

18 Simple Ways to Declutter Your Home By Going Green

10 Creative Ways to Declutter

Don’t let the junk win!

Mama xoxo

*If you’re after a hair straightener, I’m your gal. It’s the one thing I have so far decided I don’t need, so mine is up for grabs. Let me know if you want it.