The beauty of blank spaces.

I’m not a blank spaces kind of girl. I like to see those spaces used for their purpose. Bookshelves full to overflowing with interesting books and drawers full of pretty clothes and knickknack shelves full of (preferably vintage) thingies.Over the past two years I have learnt to love blank spaces. They show me that I have made progress. By leaving them blank they incite my imagination. All the things I could do with that space, the way I could curate it or fill it with stuff I love. And being able to imagine is enough.

The Fearse Family: Blank spaces

Here are some of the blank spaces I have cultivated since we began our BNN year. Even though they are spaces filled with nothing, I sometimes think this is my biggest Buy Nothing achievement. Currently I am piloting an e-course for Bethany of Our Journey to Ithaca (which I will look forward to recommending to you when it’s up and running. The e-course runs alongside reading the e-book Clutterfree by Leo Babauta and Courtney Carver (full disclosure: I purchased this – but education is something I’m always willing to invest in). I haven’t read enough of the book yet to recommend it, but so far it reconfirms a lot of the things I have already learned about living a less clutter-some life, and also reminds me of some home truths I choose to forget sometimes. This quote, which I read today, is particularly relevant to this post: When you have emptiness in your home you have space to fill it with conversation, play, laughter, and silence. 

The Fearse Family: Blank spaces  The Fearse Family: Blank spaces The Fearse Family: Blank spaces The Fearse Family: Blank spaces The Fearse Family: Blank spaces

The Fearse Family: Blank spaces

The Fearse Family: Blank spaces

I’d love to hear your tales of blank spaces! Share photos! 

Mamaxo

2 thoughts on “The beauty of blank spaces.

  1. My husband and I both grew up with no blank spaces in our homes. He was in a single wide mobile home with 4 other family members. My husband’s mom tends toward hoarding, although I will have to say in the last couple of years she is actually getting rid of some things all on her own. But in her bedroom are a couple of shelving units FILLED with magazines still in the wrappers. She will say she knows she is never going to read them but she just can’t bear to get rid of them. If she would let me, I would go through every one of them, take her name off, and donate them to the library bookstore. My husband takes after his mom somewhat in the sense that he would like to keep everything “just in case” although he is also getting better at letting things go as I have been working on this in our home the last few years.

    I was in a small home with 4 family members and a dad who was an only child so inherited all his parents’ things. Our problem was more wall-to-wall furniture, and as a result that is something I cannot abide. I love my blank spaces in my home where there is no furniture or items hanging on the walls! For years my mil kept saying I needed something on the large wall above my couch, and playfully threatening to buy something to put up there. I finally hung a smaller framed photo that I love. The rest of the wall is blank and I love it!

    We are still working on getting rid of items. This year’s focus will hopefully be on electronics, including all those old cords, cameras, and laptops that we no longer use. My husband is ready to let those go!! I will be putting a few of the items that still work in a yard sale my mother is having this spring, and the rest will go to our local humane society to send in for recycling that will earn them money.

    • Isn’t it interesting how our past lives can impact on how we live now? Both BP and I grew up with lots of stuff. My bedroom, as a kid, was the worst in the house. My dressing table alone would cause me shudders today. It was filled from corner to corner with ornaments. I still have some of them boxed up in the storeroom. I’ll probably get around to looking at them during our 40 bags in 40 days challenge, but many of them were handed down from family members who had passed away, so it is difficult to get rid of them. I still need to work on my sentimental attachment.
      I would do anything for a pile of mags like your MILs in my classroom!

Leave a Reply

