School holidays are upon us.

I often hear parents complaining that they are dreading the school holidays. I don’t know whether I’ll be one of those parents in the future, though I suspect that being a teacher makes you dread them less. My Mum always LOVED the school holidays. She said she planned all the adventures we’d have well ahead of time. She’s a great Mum. I hope to be a Mum like that in the future, but I can also imagine that all that time together, especially during the winter holidays, could really drag.

These holidays I am planning some adventures. BP has the time off from studies, too, so we can spend some fun time as a family. I hope to visit the local reservoir to check out the kangaroos (and the play ground, of course) and we’d like to make the most of Little Fearse’s membership to the swimming pool by spending a little time there. I’d also like to have another go at edible finger paint now she’s a little older.

I’ve been reading about many other great holiday ideas, mainly for older kids. If you’re facing two weeks with your school age kids maybe some of these cheap and fun activities will float your boat:

And if you’re from Melbourne, too, and want some ideas for fun outings here are some really comprehensive lists.

If you’re from somewhere else, I bet there is a website dedicated to your city, too. Don’t forget to look on your local council website or around your area. There are so many free activities from moonlight cinemas to crafting and cooking workshops. It’s amazing how well children are catered for if you really look for it.

Get Googling!

Happy holidays,

Mama xoxox

Leave a Reply

