Listmania Eleven: Books

Home Life Simplified’s List Mania Eleven was just too tempting for me.

My favourite author:

Image

It’s really difficult for me to narrow this down to one writer, but I will read anything by Lily Brett. I think she is smart and funny and strong. She’s a beautiful writer and generally, I think, underrated. I actually haven’t picked up her latest novel, Lola Bensky, so I’ll have to have a look for it at the library (bugger you, book embargo).

Other favourite books:

Image

I’d love to photograph my actual favourite books, but a lot are out on loan. Choosing my favourite books of all time is as daunting as choosing my favourite student. I feel that each book I read adds something to my life or my mind or my imagination. Some of them stick around in my mind for longer, others I forget completely. I never read a book again, so having a clear image from a book I have read in my mind for years to come will make it really stand out for me. These are my most recent favourite reads from the last year or two:

The Bone People – Kerri Hulme

The Street Sweeper – Elliot Perlman

Middlesex – Jeffrey Eugenides

The Bean Trees – Barbara Kingsolver

The Art of Fielding – Chad Harbach

Tar Baby – Toni Morrison

The Tall Man – Chloe Hooper

Caleb’s Crossing – Geraldine Brooks

The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger

Classic favourites?



IMG_1568

The Great Gatsby (Fitzgerald), Cats Eye (Atwood), The Diary of Anne Frank, Archy and Mehitabel (Don Marquis), Slaughterhouse 5 (Vonnegut).

Children’s literature favourites?

IMG_1569

Where the Wild Things Are – Maurice Sendak

Wilfred Gordon McDonald Partridge – Mem Fox

Harold and the Purple Crayon – Crockett Johnson

Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Caroll

Winnie the Pooh – A. A. Milne

Enid Blyton (anything, anything, anything).

Current bedside books:

IMG_1571

Three Dollars – Elliot Perlman

I am currently reading this, having loved his most recent book, The Streetsweeper. So far this is holding up well. 

Patience and Sarah – Isabel Miller

Next to be read from my favourite list: Feminista’s 100 Great 20th Century Works of Fiction By Women.

The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame

I’m reading this with Little Fearse at the moment. Though the original copy we were reading completely disappeared, so I’ve had to hunt down a second copy (weirdly, we had two). 

Green Eggs and Ham – Dr Suess

I love reading this aloud and Little Fearse seems to enjoy it, so we keep it close at hand for bed time.

Nursery Treasury – Belinda Gallagher

Another great read aloud full of rhymes and songs. 

In Over Our Heads: The Mental Demands of Modern Life – Robert Kegan

On loan from my brother. It’s highly readable and very interesting but I’m making little headway with it. 

Thanks for reading my indulgent post about books. If you’re a blogger you may like to check out Home Life Simplified each Monday for other List Mania prompts.

Mama xox

4 thoughts on “Listmania Eleven: Books

  1. Great list, so many books I have heard of but not read. And I like lily Brett too although I have only read bits here and there. Too many men is on my to read list after I read an excerpt ages ago.deb xx

  2. I find Lily Brett so neurotically readable. I hope you enjoy her, too! I love lists and I love books, but I found it quite challenging to compile a list of favourite books. Thanks for the prompt!

  3. Thanks for telling me about Lily Brett – I’d not heard of her but with such a strong recommendation I will look for her titles in the library.

Leave a Reply

