Separation and Sentimentality

As I had previously promised here I was going to upload a video of me reorganising and de cluttering my home office/studio. I went in yesterday and set up the camera and then I stood still for an hour.

As I rummaged through my shelves and pursued my desk, I realised that a lot of what inhabits my studio is tied up in sentimentality in one way or another. Knick Nacks and Doo Dads that to the naked eye may appear to be useless or even rubbish but in one way or another hold some form of significance.

As a child I moved house 10+ times and with each successive move I learnt to pare down my belongings and often leave behind things that I had cherished. However as I got older and moved out of the parental household, I became more and more sentimental about “stuff” and have spent the better part of 10 years lugging it between apartments, share houses and now it’s final destination “The Fearse Cave”

The mountains of media really form the majority of the clutter in the office. The vinyl and cassette collection is off limits, I have spent most of my life cultivating it and cannot bring myself to part with it. What about the CD’s though, although I hate to admit it, the humble CD is basically a dead format, I can’t remember the last time that I popped a disc into any form of player and gave one a spin. I don’t even have a cd player in my car or a cd drive in my laptop. I could back them all up and donate them to the Op Shop but I’m really not sure how keen they’d be to receive a couple of hundred Hip Hop and Metal discs, even the humble Op Shop is limited in space. I’m at a loss as what to do with these, if anyone has any suggestions, I’m all ears.

Eagerly awaiting your ideas/responses

Big Poppa Fearse

Leave a Reply

