Clutter update

Clutter update

I didn’t know I was going to do this today until I started doing it. I forced myself to take these photos without moving anything. This gives me a sort of map of the problem areas. You’ll notice some areas are much, much better. Some are just a little better and some are worse.

I don’t want to pretend that I can combat this problem easily and then make an instant and permanent change. It’s a process. Here is the beginning of ours.

A few strategies that have worked for me:

  • Cleaning out cupboards so they are conducive to storage.
  • Putting away half of Little Fearse’s toys to rotate in a month.
  • Clearing off tables near doors regularly.
  • Getting rid of stuff (of course the 2-4-1 challenge has helped).
  • Using the spaces for their purpose, rather than just for piling stuff up.
  • (In some cases) closing doors to help myself focus on one area at a time.

Here is the old one for comparison.

Clutter Collage

7 thoughts on “Clutter update

  1. love the idea of rotating the toys! This defiantly needs to be done in my house. And I am glad I am not the only one who has to clear off tables (or in my case the tops of bookcases) by our doors regularly. They become the dumping grounds of clutter around here.

    • The only problem with rotating toys is having somewhere to store the ones out of current play! This has added to the clutter in our spare room (the one I just close the door on hehe). Isn’t it amazing how stuff accumulates so quickly?! I really question where the heck it is coming from a lot of the time! Thanks for your comment! The feedback is very welcome. 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Little Fearse den. | The Fearse Family

  3. Pingback: Clutter update II | The Fearse Family

  4. Pingback: Clutter update III | The Fearse Family

Leave a Reply

