A scrap yard whale

A scrap yard whale

Our class mascot this year is a whale. It is designed to look like the fellow found in the book The Runaway Whale.

runaway whale

The grade one team thought about buying a whale on Ebay, or similar, but I decided to have a go at making one.

IMG_1288

I already had blue material for the top (I have no idea where it came from) and the vintage material was an old sheet I bought at an op shop years and years ago. It has been used for many projects. This tutorial looked simple enough (it really does need to be very basic, I’m a beginning beginner when it comes to craft and sewing) and the whale was similar to the whale from the book.

Anyway, it isn’t perfect and it’s not quite finished but I’m so pleased that I had all the materials to make the whale, didn’t have to buy something new and also saved the team a little money in our narrow budget.

One thought on “A scrap yard whale

Leave a Reply

