Artistic Endeavours

Prior to our family decision to buy nothing new in 2013, I have been working on a solo album that I plan on releasing in Autumn this year. This will involve a decent outlay of cash and also involve purchasing a large quantity of physical product for example CD’s and promotional materials.

I could release the album as a digital only download from my bandcamp page which is something I have done in the past and have not enjoyed. To me nothing beats being able to hold the physical product in your hand, flipping through the liner notes and enjoying the artwork up close and not via the medium of a glowing computer screen. The digital age is well and truly in full swing and a lot of people would prefer their music on their mp3 player, smart phone or laptop, which is fine and dandy and I will in the long run succumb to the present and make the album available in a digital format.

The reason I want to press physical copies of the album is mainly for the sense of personal achievement, I want to be able to hold my creation in my hands once it’s complete, frame it, put it in my CD collection in between favourite albums from years past and I want other people who feel the same way about their music to be able to do the same.

The question remains; How does this fit into Buy Nothing New?

The short answer  – It doesn’t.

The long answer – It doesn’t with a but.

I will have to purchase “new” things, but those things, if everything goes according to plan, will not occupy space in our home very long and will also be recouping the money initially spent on them with the potential for making a small profit and that my friends is the but.

So I will be releasing an album sometime this year and it technically will break the BNN mantra but only a smidge.

If you would like to hear some of my older music and keep up tp date with the making of this album check out the websites linked below.

Peace

Big Poppa Fearse

www.campfirebreath.bandcamp.com

www.facebook.com/campfirebreath

Leave a Reply

